Let’s go camping

I went camping for the first time last week and I had the most fun! I have to say though, I am not a camping girl. I don’t like the fact that you can’t shower. I suppose in winter it isn’t too bad… You don’t sweat as much. I guess that’s why I loved it so much.

Camping

I went with my partner and his parents. As his parents are in the fishing club, we got a chance to meet many people who are passionate about fishing. They all seemed so friendly and happy. I think everyone was delighted on how beautiful the weather was.

North Straddie

I set up my first tent, which would be hard if I didn’t have help. However, now I know it step by step. You can call me the tent queen! I made my first fire, WITHOUT FIRE STARTER. It was the best feeling, knowing that I can survive if I was stranded one day in the woods. I caught some fish, and cooked it up straight away on the beach. Lastly I had my first camping shower.

Tent queen

Fishing

Pelican

Everything was so exciting and amusing. I went with the best people though. My partner’s parents packed literally THE WHOLE HOUSE. They were so prepared. I wasn’t sleeping in a sleeping bag, I was sleeping on a mattress! I had hot showers! I was fed well, having steak and sausages, bacon and egg for breakfast. They told me that I would camp in comfort… Camp in comfort I did!

Camp in comfort

One of the reasons why I enjoyed it so much was because there was no internet, no phone reception. I thought I got the first world problem – couldn’t live without a phone or internet. Goodness gracious me, did I enjoy not having a phone. I spent my time on reading, drawing, watching the waves, playing with fire, getting to know the people who camp across us and the most relaxing thing – not care about a thing.

Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 8.24.15 am

So next time if anyone asks me to go camping IN WINTER, I would definitely say YES! (Maybe I should try camping in summer/autumn and see how that’s like too, so I know which weather I really like to go camping in.)

Camping day 4 - sunrise

P.S
Many more photos on my Instagram
Or you can follow the hashtag –  #60daysofmovingforward

All photos were taken by me with my iPhone

Leave a comment